Dr. Malinda Fitzgerald
(Biology) has assumed her role as president of Region III of the Alpha Chi National Organization, as of the National Convention held March 27-29 in St Louis. Also at the convention, CBU’s TN Theta Chapter was recognized as a Star chapter for the fifth time. Stephanie Allen-Winters (Biology ’14), chapter vice president, presented the results from her senior research with Dr. Anand Kanwaljeet in the Health Sciences division of the Alpha Chi presentations and won first place for her presentation entitled “How demographic factors influence the cortisol levels of infants and young children.” Stephanie also competed and won one of two regional scholarships (Region III SE USA) of $500 to be used towards her graduate education.  Pictured above (l-r) are Dr. Malinda Fitzgerald, chapter advisor; Elton Banks (Biomedical Science ’14), chapter president; and Stephanie Allen-Winters, chapter vice president.

Joanna Arnett (Biochemistry ’15) has been selected to be a Summer Research Scholar to participate in research during Summer 2014 at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center.

Anna Birg
 (Biochemistry ’14) was honored by the School of Sciences with the  Dominic Dunn Award at the Student Research Poster Session on April 15.  This award is presented annually by the faculty of the School of Sciences to the outstanding graduating senior with a major in science or mathematics.  The award is given in the memory of Brother Dominic Dunn to the graduate giving strong evidence of academic excellence and of service to the University and/or the community. Anna is pictured above with Dr. Johnny Holmes, Dean of the School of Sciences.

Damien Stevenson (Biochemistry ’15) has been selected to participate in the 2014 Tennessee Institute for Pre-professionals summer program at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center.

Esha Thakore (Biochemistry ’14) has been accepted into the Fall 2014 entering class of the University of Tennessee School of Pharmacy in Memphis.

J.D. Wolfe (Biochemistry ’15) has been selected to participate in the Summer Science Program at the Arkansas Children’s Hospital in Little Rock.