(l-r) Dr. John Varriano, Brent Holmes, Dr. Johnny Holmes and Dr. Pascal Bedrossian

(l-r) Dr. John Varriano, Brent Holmes, Dr. Johnny Holmes and Dr. Pascal Bedrossian

Brent Holmes
(Physics ’13) was presented with the Brother Dominic Dunn Award by the School of Sciences at the 17th Annual CBU Student Research Poster Session, held April 16 in Sabbatini Lounge. This award is presented annually by the faculty of the School of Sciences to the outstanding graduating senior with a major in science or mathematics. The award is given in the memory of Brother Dominic Dunn to the graduate giving strong evidence of academic excellence and of service to the University and/or the community. (More than 50 students from the School of Sciences, School of Engineering and Department of Behavioral Sciences presented research at the Poster Session. Photos are available online courtesy of Dr. Anna Ross >>>)

Dr. James Allen (Sport Management) has been awarded Certificate of Merit of the Outstanding New Advising Award – Faculty Academic Advising by the National Academic Advising Association (NACADA). Established in 1983, the NACADA Annual Awards Program for Academic Advising honors individuals and institutions making significant contributions to the improvement of academic advising.

Dr. Emily Holmes (Religion & Philosophy) presented her paper “The Desert, the Garden, and Christ: Making a Garden of the Wasteland” at the First Annual Conference and Workshop on Food Justice and Peace at Michigan State University on April 12.

Dr. Karl Leib (History & Political Science) presented a paper entitled “State Sovereignty in Space: Current Models and Possible Futures” at the annual meeting of the International Studies Association in San Francisco on April 6. He also attended the annual meeting of the Tennessee Political Science Association in Nashville on April 20.

Anthony Maranise, CMC, Obl.S.B. (Religion & Philosophy ’11) recently published his seminal research entitled “Superstition & Religious Ritual: An Examination of their Effects and Utilization in Sport” in the academic journal, The Sport Psychologist (March 2013). He also recently received the designation of “Certified Master Chaplain” through the American Board for Certification in Homeland Security, and will be serving as a guest on Dr. Mary McDonald’s radio show, “Seize the Day,” on May 15. It can be heard on KWAM 990 or streamed online.

Jada Owens (English ’13) has been accepted to the Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law, University of Memphis.

(l-r) Dr. Eric Welch (Dean of Engineering), Rizgar A. Jan, Robert L. Bell II, Robbie Webb, Charles McCain and Dr. Rita Engler

(l-r) Dr. Eric Welch (Dean of Engineering) with Rizgar A. Jan, Robert L. Bell II, Robbie Webb, Charles McCain and Dr. Rita Engler, new inductees into Epsilon Mu Eta Honor Society

The Alpha Delta Chapter of Epsilon Mu Eta, the Engineering Management Honor Society, inducted seven new members on March 22. Graduate Engineering students inducted were Robert L. Bell IIManuel De TuyaRizgar A. Jan and Robbie Webb. Faculty members inducted were Dr. Rita EnglerCharles McCain and Gene McGinnis. These students and faculty have shown both exceptional academic achievement and excellent character. Congratulations to the 2012-2013 members of the Alpha Delta Chapter for their achievements and this recognition, and for the honor they bring to the University.